Day Seven–Geden Choeling, New friends, New beginnings

After our visit to Shugseb we wandered back to Kashmir Cottage somewhat subdued. It was good to visit the new site first, as now I know that in the future their lives will get better. Especially considering many of them were beaten, raped, tortured in prison… I share so many things with them. Yet, somehow they manage to be so compassionate and so forgiving… and so beautiful. It radiates from them. I want to be like that–not bitter, or sad, or angry…

This afternoon we went to Geden Choeling Nunnery–the oldest in Dharamsala. It was bigger than I thought it would be and different to either Dolma Ling or Shugseb. I guess partly because it’s a different lineage. Dolma Ling has teachers from all lineages, and Shugseb is Nyingma. Geden Choeling is Gelugkpa. It was open and welcoming, and we were treated to more tea (my fourth or fifth of the day!!) before heading for a tour.

Nestled on the side of a hill, the nunnery seems to sprout between the trees, held together by the proliferation of prayer flags. It really is a beautiful place. As we arrived the nuns were lined up for their evening meal. It’s funny how there’s a different energy about each of the nunneries. By far I felt that Dolma Ling was the most… vibrant. I don’t know if it’s because the white and deep red are so energetic in themselves.

It was also here that I had my first experience with monkeys. Apparently these are the “mean” monkeys. I didn’t hang around too close to find out…

