So I have been in India for over a week now. So far everything has been wonderful. Delhi was actually my least favourite part–simply because of the hustle and bustle of it all. Not to mention the dust and all the beggars.

The stay at Dolma Ling was sublime, and there will be much more than this to follow. The nuns are the most wonderful people I have ever met, and I really love the people who are out here on the trip with me. There are eight of us (nine including Debi) and it has been quite an emotional rollercoaster.

Last week we got to have a private audience with the Karmapa at his residence near Dolma Ling (Kangra Valley). It was the most amazing thing… or at least I thought that it was until today… today I got within 4ft of his Holiness the Dalai Lama. It was amazing. I never thought that I would ever see him in this lifetime. In fact, I had given up completely on ever seeing him. So we sat through a good part of the long life puja performed by the Indian people of Himachal Pradesh. It was great to see him smiling and giggling away as they performed all the rituals, and then it was great to hear him speak. At one point when he walked past he looked right at me. It was really quite an amazing moment.

For those who don’t know, I also shaved my head. Completely. So I have a couple of millimeters of new growth since I had it done last Thursday. I feel so much better–it was such an important ritual allowing me to completely release all of the past baggage that was really affecting me. I am so glad that I was able to do it.

This whole trip has been quite an experience so far one that I am not sure I can match in this lifetime ever again. I am just glad that Ju Lee was able to sneak her camera into the place at take pictures to prove that we saw His Holiness.

Okay. Off for now. Hopefully the connection will last long enough to post this…

